logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Garrett  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2008 1:20:02 PM(UTC)
Garrett

Shalom to all.

I was hoping to open up a dialogue.

Topic: What language were the writings of the talmidim (New Testament) originally penned in?
I read the following short book:

http://www.aramaicpeshit...k%20-%20Edition%201a.pdf

I also recently watched a presentation By Nehemiah Gordon on Shem Tov's Hebrew Matthew:

http://video.google.com/...;q=greek+jesus&hl=en

Pretty compelling.

I am by no means an expert on ancient manuscripts, but there seems to be a lot of evidence to support that the New Testament was written first in Hebrew, translated into Aramaic, then to Greek (Byzantine and Alexandria).

For those who get a chance to read the book (above) and watch Nehemiah's presentation, I would really like to know what you think.

Shalom u'vracha.

Garrett-
It is the glory of Elohim (God) to conceal a matter, but the honour of melekim (kings) to search it out.
Offline Matthew  
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2008 8:24:32 AM(UTC)
Matthew
Man

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
It definitely does make one wonder, since the Hebrew version does seem to be in more in unison. Though I checked my ISR version at the same time and they seemed to of gotten it the saying the same in most cases, except for the main passage being dealt with, which was Matthew 23:1-3

Greek version:

Matthew 23:1-3 Then Yahushua spoke to the crowds and to His taught ones, saying, "The scribes and the Pharisees sit on the seat of Mosheh. Therefore, whatever they say to you to guard, guard and do. But do not do according to their works, for they say, and do not do."

Shem-Tov Hebrew version: